Macross Watch Order Guide

Macross anime is a well-known mecha style.

It is also known as the 80’s classic. 

You’ve come to the right place if you want to watch Macross anime in its correct order.

Macross refers to a series of events that take place over a long period.

It tells the story of humanity over many generations.

It includes inter-galactic wars and romances as well as the nostalgia of a lost world after too much technological advancement.

is a mecha anime that features massive machine battles.

It also has stunningly beautiful spacecraft and space jets.

This series is easy to follow, unlike other complex series such as ‘The Garden of Sinners’ and ‘Fate series’.

Here’s the Macross watch list that you can use before diving into the anime.

Macross Release Order

I. TV Series

  1. Super Dimension Fortress Macross (1982)
  2. Macross 7 (1994)
  3. Macross F (2008)
  4. Macross Delta (2016)

II. Movies

  1. Macross: Do You Remember Love? (1984)
  2. Macross 7 Movie: Ginga ga Ore wo Yondeiru! (1995)
  3. Macross Plus Movie Edition (1995)
  4. Macross Frontier: The False Songstress (2009)
  5. Macross F Movie 2: Sayonara no Tsubasa (2011)
  6. Macross FB7: Ore no Uta wo Kike! (2012)
  7. Macross Delta Movie: Gekijou no Walküre (2018)


  1. Macross Flash Back 2012 (1987)          
  2. Macross II: Lovers Again (1992)
  3. Macross Plus (1994)
  4. Macross 7 Encore (1995)
  5. Macross Dynamite 7 (1997)
  6. Macross Zero (2002)
  7. Macross F: Choujikuu Gekijou (2011)

IV. Specials

  1. Macross 7 Plus (1995)
  2. Mini-Chara Macross (2002)
  3. Macross XX (2002)
  4. Macross F: Close Encounter – Deculture Edition (2007)
  5. Macross F: Close Encounter – Broadcast Edition (2007)
  6. Macross F Music Clip Shuu: Nyankuri (2010)
  7. Macross Frontier: Sayonara no Tsubasa Epilogue (2011)
  8. Macross Delta: Delta Shougekijou (2016)

Macross Chronological Watch Order

  1. Macross Zero
  2. Super Dimension Fortress Macross
  3. Macross: Do You Remember Love?
  4. Macross: Flashback 2012
  5. Macross Plus
  6. Macross Plus Movie Edition
  7. Macross 7
  8. Macross 7: Encore 
  9. Macross 7 the Movie: The Galaxy’s Calling Me!
  10. Macross Dynamite 7 
  11. Macross F
  12. Macross Frontier: The False Songstress 
  13. Macross Frontier 2: Sayonara no Tsubasa
  14. Macross FB 7 
  15. Macross Delta
  16. Macross II: Lovers Again

How to Watch Macross in Order!

Any show can be viewed according to its date of release. 

The Macross series is released in chronological order.

It’s not the same with OVA episodes or films that just recap previous events. 

To enjoy your watch, please refer to our Macross watch ordering.

Super Dimension Fortress Macross (1982)

Super Dimension Fortress Macross

Super Dimension Fortress was the original Macross series.

If you are interested in watching it, start with this. 

The storyline that leads to the conflict between humans and aliens is the main focus of the movie. 

You should also watch two other movies. 

These two movies are well worth the time.

  • Macross: Do You Remember Love?
  • Macross: Flashback 2012

Macross Zero (2002)

Macross Zero

Macross Zero shows why this anime should be viewed in chronological order. 

It was published in 2002, but it is a prequel.

We recommend that you view it after you have finished Super Dimension Fortress Macross to get a clearer view. 

It’s not something to ignore, even though these are OVAs.

There are some incredible battles.

That’s why we included it in our Macross watch order.

Macross Plus (1994)

Macross Plus (1994)

This OVA is the best in the entire Macross franchise. 

It is amazing in every way: music, direction, and all. 

We recommend that you do not skip this film. 

These are not the only animated films.

  • Macross Plus Movie (optional)

Macross 7 (1994)

Macross 7 (1994)

After you have watched Macross Plus, you are ready to watch Macross 7. 

Although not the most popular Macross series, it has great visuals and music that will keep you motivated. 

It is one of the most popular Macross series in Japan and many sequels were made to it.

  • Macross 7: Encore (Contains three unaired episodes and they’re pretty fun to watch.)
  • Macross 7 the Movie: The Gallaxy’s Calling Me
  • Macross Dynamite 7 (optional)

Macross Frontier (2008)

Macross Frontier (2008)

This is the Macross series’ best and most enduring mecha anime. 

Macross Frontier was released on the 25th anniversary.

It influenced many people and inspired many new films.

  • Macross Frontier: The False Sage Songstress
  • Macross Frontier: The Wings of Farewell
  • Macross FB 7

Macross Delta (2016)

Macross Delta (2016)

Macross Delta has some great animation.

It is the latest series in the franchise. 

You can catch up with it right after Macross Frontier.

It is up to you whether you want to watch movies about the frontier. 

These movies are amazing, especially considering their inspiring storylines.

Macross II: Lovers Again (1992)

Macross II: Lovers Again (1992)

Macross II – Lovers Again may not be the most recent series, but it’s the best.

Here you are! 

This is the ultimate and most straightforward Macross watch list. 

Although you might be confused by the number of movies on this list, make sure to watch most of them.

You should give it a shot.

We think you’ll be able to make a choice, as some of the stories are related. 

What do you think of our post? 

You can also leave any questions regarding the Macross watch orders in the comments section.

2 people found this article entertaining!

Did you enjoy this article?

About the Author

Aiko Nakamura

Hey there, I'm Aiko Nakamura! I'm a 28-year-old anime lover from Tokyo. I dove deep into the world of anime during my studies, earning a Master's in Media Studies. Now, I'm all about creating anime fillers and watch order guides. When I'm not working, you'll find me cosplaying at conventions or exploring otaku communities globally. Anime isn't just a passion; it's my life!

Leave a Reply