Hunter X Hunter Series Watch Order

created and produced by Nippon TV, VAP, Shueisha, as well as Madhouse, directed by Hiroshi Kojina, with Atsushi Maekawa and Tsutomu Kamishiro in charge of the series’ composition. The fresh Hunter x Hunter anime was released on July 24, the 24th of July. 

It’s a reboot of the series that begins at the very beginning of the manga and has no ties to the original anime series, which ran from 1999 to 2000. Takahiro Yoshimatsu created the characters, and Yoshihisa Hirano composed the music.

Hunter x Hunter is an extraordinary anime that has been veiled under the typical Shonen. 

According to all reports, it includes characters and their influences that follow their own Shonen model, but as we move through the series we are exposed to the dark sides of the show. 

It’s one of those shows which begins with a smile and happiness, but as you progress the story moves forward and you’re awed by the dark side of everything that happened abruptly.

Hunter x Hunter could be an excellent anime that’s hidden behind the cover of an ordinary Shonen. 

At first glance, its characters and their motivations are in line with that of the Shonen model, but as we move through the series we begin to see some darker aspects of the show.

Which Version of Hunter X Hunter Should I Be Watching? – Old Vs New

gon and killua reading 1 Hunter X Hunter Series Watch Order

There are two versions of Hunter x Hunter One of them was made available in 1999, and the second was released in the year 2011. 

There are two hundred and a half episodes (including the OVAs) in the 1999 adaptation, and there are more than 148 episodes in the 2011 adaptation.

The film is generally advised to view the second adaptation, i.e., the 2011 adaptation, as it features superior quality animation and virtually no unnecessary fillers and comes with two additional arches that one of which is believed to be the finest arch you can find.

But, it’s also certain that the 1999 version has more of the initial two arcs. This 2011 version may seem juvenile to some viewers however, it all depends on your personal preference. 

The older versions are extremely engaging as well. The overall animation is more serious as opposed to the more recent version.

If you’re looking to experience the longer tale and appreciate digital graphics better than drawn ones, check out the full version of 2011.

Another alternative is to finish the 1999 adaptation and then go back to the more recent one of Episode 75 instead of beginning with the beginning. 

Be aware this: different animation techniques differ and, If you’re not a fan of transitions, then just take a look at the 2011 adaptation.

An extensive selection of episodes help in making characters more interesting and exploring the backstories of many. 

Do not skip any episode along with those OVAs (for versions from 1999). The films are not part of the series and can be watched after the series is completed.

Note: Hunter X Hunter (2011) is the newer version.

Hunter X Hunter Movies Order

Hunter X Hunter 2011 Watch Order 1 Hunter X Hunter Series Watch Order

Release Order:

  • Hunter X Hunter (1999)
  • Hunter X Hunter (2011)


  • Hunter X Hunter: Spider (1999)
  • Hunter X Hunter: Greed Island (1999)
  • Hunter X Hunter: Greed Island Final (1999)


  • Hunter x Hunter: Phantom Rouge (2013)
  • Hunter x Hunter: The Last Mission (2013)

What Order Should I Watch Hunter X Hunter 2011?

Below is the watch order for Hunter X Hunter 2011:

  • Hunter Exam arc (Episodes 1-26)
  • Heavens Arena arc (Episodes 27-38)
  • Phantom Troupe arc (Episodes 39-58)
  • Greed Island arc (Episodes 58-75)
  • Chimera Ant arc (Episodes 76-136)
  • Election arc (Episodes 136-148)

Hunter X Hunter 1999

Below is the watch order for Hunter X Hunter 1999:

  • Hunter X Hunter (1999)
  • Hunter X Hunter: Spider
  • Hunter X Hunter: Greed Island
  • Hunter X Hunter: Greed Island Final
  • Hunter X Hunter (2011) (Episode 75 onwards) (Chimera Ant arc)

Hunter X Hunter Movie Timeline

The timeline follows the experiences of a mature young boy Gon discovering that his father’s death was not actually dead, but famous as a Hunter. 

Instead of being lonely, Gon decides to follow in the footsteps of his father and become a successful Hunter himself. 

The job of a Hunter isn’t an easy one, however, and Gon must pass an exam to be a hunter officer. 

Gon makes friends along this journey, and they should all help each other in overcoming any hurdles.


A significant number of episodes are essential to creating characters and discovering the back-stories of various characters. 

Don’t skip any episodes, which include OVAs (for an earlier version in 1999). 

The films are independent and are best seen after the end of the entire series.

0 people found this article entertaining!

Did you enjoy this article?

About the Author

Aiko Nakamura

Hey there, I'm Aiko Nakamura! I'm a 28-year-old anime lover from Tokyo. I dove deep into the world of anime during my studies, earning a Master's in Media Studies. Now, I'm all about creating anime fillers and watch order guides. When I'm not working, you'll find me cosplaying at conventions or exploring otaku communities globally. Anime isn't just a passion; it's my life!

Leave a Reply