How to Watch Tokyo Ghoul in Order

Tokyo Ghoul is a popular anime.

However, the various seasons’ shows, OVA’s, and live-action films may leave viewers a little confused as to the most suitable method in which to tell this Tokyo Ghoul story.

The manga’s original story of Tokyo Ghoul began serialization in 2011.

Since this time, the manga has been transformed into full-length anime seasons, various anime series, and animated live-action films.

Tokyo Ghoul is set in a different world where “ghouls”, or creatures, hide as humans and can live in a secret society within our own. But they can only survive on human flesh.

The first storyline is about Ken Kaneki, a college student who was transformed into a half-ghoul when someone killed him. 

Anyone new to the series may feel overwhelmed with the sheer amount of Tokyo Ghoul material available for viewing.

This is, therefore, the agreement on the best way to go through all the Tokyo Ghoul canon material.

In what order should I watch “Tokyo Ghoul”?

  1. Tokyo Ghoul season 1
  2. Tokyo Ghoul Live-action Film
  3. Tokyo Ghoul season 2
  4. Tokyo Ghoul: JACK and PINTO OVA’s
  5. Tokyo Ghoul: Re

Release Order

I. TV Series

  • Tokyo Ghoul (2014)
  • Tokyo Ghoul A (2015)
  • Tokyo Ghoul Re (2018)
  • Tokyo Ghoul: re 2nd Season (2018)


  • Tokyo Ghoul: “Jack” (2015)
  • Tokyo Ghoul: “Pinto” (2015)

III. Chronological Order

  • Tokyo Ghoul: “Jack”
  • Tokyo Ghoul: “Pinto”
  • Tokyo Ghoul: Re
  • Tokyo Ghoul: The Tokyo Ghoul Season


TOKYO GHOUL Season 1 1 How to Watch Tokyo Ghoul in Order

Episode 1 of Tokyo Ghoul is all about Kaneki and his transformation into a ghoul following being attacked by his lover (who herself was also a ghost).

Ghouls from the society join him and instruct him on the ways of the ghoul. However, he is unable to adjust to their flesh-eating habits while keeping them hidden from the rest of his companions.

The show has 14 seasons, starting with season one of Tokyo Ghoul.

Tokyo Ghoul Live-ACTION Film

Tokyo Ghoul Live-ACTION Film

It is the Tokyo Ghoul live-action film released in Japan in 2017 and, while it’s not essential to understand the whole story, it’s an enjoyable watch.

Although it may be a little uninspiring at times, the animation is better than many other live-action anime adaptations.

It is basically a summary of Tokyo Ghoul season 1 and includes bits of background information that are not in the anime.


TOKYO GHOUL Season 2 How to Watch Tokyo Ghoul in Order

The second season of Tokyo Ghoul is also known as Tokyo Ghoul A and continues exactly where season 1 ended.

After an extended time of brutality, Kaneki accepts the monster that he has become and is now a flesh-hungry maniac more than ever.

The season of 12 episodes is well-known for its superb fight scenes and brutal ghoul fights perfectly choreographed.

Tokyo Ghoul Jack and Pinto Ova’s

Tokyo Ghoul Jack and Pinto Ovas How to Watch Tokyo Ghoul in Order

The next step is the two original video animations of Tokyo Ghoul, Jack, and Pinto.

These are prequels to the original series, and each tells the backstory of how a character develops into the characters we will see in the next Tokyo Ghoul seasons.

While PINTO is a story about Hori and Tsukiyama at high school, JACK explores how Arima was able to get her place in the CCG, as well as providing some additional information that isn’t in the show and crucial information for Tokyo Ghoul.


TOKYO GHOUL RE How to Watch Tokyo Ghoul in Order

After the OVA’s, you must then go on to one of two episodes from the Ghost: re series.

The story is set two years following that of the first series. The initial series follows Haise Sasaki, the new name for Ken Kaneki, and his journey as the Quinx Squad’s leader. Quinx Squad.

You can stream Tokyo Ghoul on multiple streaming sites. However, checking the individual websites is recommended.

Where Should The Tokyo Ghoul Manga Begin?

It’s well-known that anime’s adaptation of Tokyo Ghoul didn’t live up to the expectations of manga fans. 

Although the first season was the most accurate to the manga, it left the most important specifics out, failed to reflect the characters of many, and made the anime more like a battle anime.

It is generally suggested to go through the manga at the beginning. The characters are developed, and there is a focus on non-battle elements in addition to the battle elements.

If you do not wish to go through the manga from the beginning, begin with chapter 46.

Yes, season one does include chapters 1–60. However, it’s not complete. There are several chapters, so even if you skip the chapters, you’ll be unable to comprehend numerous things that happen later in the manga.

About Tokyo Ghoul

Tokyo Ghoul is a Japanese manga of dark fantasy drawn and written by Sui Ishida. The manga was published in the year 2011.

This was the 26th most-sold manga in Japan in 2013 with 1.6 million expected sales, as well as being the fourth most-sold manga to date in Japan during 2014 with 6.9 million units sold. 

The manga has been made into an animated series with three seasons of the main season and two live-action films.

I strongly advise readers to read through the manga series. Your time spent will be well worth it. We hope that we can come to the aid of all fans who were in awe of the Watch Order of Tokyo Ghoul.

0 people found this article entertaining!

Did you enjoy this article?

About the Author

Aiko Nakamura

Hey there, I'm Aiko Nakamura! I'm a 28-year-old anime lover from Tokyo. I dove deep into the world of anime during my studies, earning a Master's in Media Studies. Now, I'm all about creating anime fillers and watch order guides. When I'm not working, you'll find me cosplaying at conventions or exploring otaku communities globally. Anime isn't just a passion; it's my life!

Leave a Reply